www.BrilliantFrugalLiving.com

Personally, I hold absolutely no belief in the “Unlucky 13” concept (even after watching “Apollo 13” several dozen times), so truthfully, not so worried the diet gods are going to put the whammy on me on this beautiful June 13th. All things considered tho, THANKS MARIE for the great suggestions on how to diet my way safely thru a “13” on the calendar! (hint from Marie to everyone who could use some dieting help: wear black and red on the days you need more power!) Marie, are you SURE you don’t have any gypsy blood in you? 🙂 🙂 🙂

Also, Evelyn, love the suggestion that I use my kids baby utensils for the remainder of the month. Glad it worked for you, and a solid gold star for originality. You’re right, it WOULD make the food look huge. On the down side however, I’m pretty sure I’d completely freak out my kids… 🙂 🙂 🙂

And hello, jello! Haven’t had it in years, about to make up for that sad fact by enjoying it constantly for the remainder of the diet, and possibly the summer. FABULOUS mixed with the canned fruits. Oonie, thanks for your note, NO worries getting it to set up in the canned stuff; must be fresh fruit that’s tricky for jello. No biggie, since fresh fruit is so much better on its own!

Popular question lately – “What’s your biggest craving?” Answer: a huge chef salad! Lots of Romaine, topped with salmon, chick peas, walnuts, chopped egg and some Mandarin Ginger Dressing. Used to be a lunchtime staple, now it wouldn’t surprise me if I dream about it tonight. Some people dream of jewelry, I dream of salad.

Menu for Today:
Breakfast – coffee, two eggs
Cost = .23

Lunch – Totally in the mood for corned beef hash again. Not so in the mood for the sodium, so we’re going with half a can. Side of peas with some butter should be good.
Cost = .10

Daytime Snack – Watermelon jello with fruit cocktail! Made it last night before I went to bed, totally set now (duh). Tried speeding the process yesterday by putting it in the freezer. NOT recommended.
Cost = .15

Dinner – Another pasta salad, this time with beans! 2 ounces whole wheat pasta, one can pinto beans, two tbsp olive oil, splash of balsamic vinegar, some leftover carrots (about ¼ cup) from yesterday, and topped with some parmesan cheese.
Cost (two cans at .05 each, plus oil & light spices) = .15

Nighttime (blogging) snack – my beloved chocolate. Hitting the Dagoba again, it’s $0.10 less than the Scharffen Bergers, so that’ll help. Tomorrow, when I incorporate some (“free”) pasta salad into the menu, I can afford a SB bar again.
Cost: .15

Total cost of food for today: $0.78.

Keep sending in your thoughts, ideas & suggestions!
Have a frugal day, everybody! K

