www.BrilliantFrugalLiving.com

Hey guys! Hope you had a fantastic Saturday, and a fun evening planned for tonight!

Okay, so I’m thinking of the scene in “The Devil Wears Prada”, when Emily & Andrea are totally decked out, walking up the steps of this grand building to attend some Runway magazine benefit. Andy compliments Emily on how thin she is – to which Emily replies with rapture “REALLY? Well, it’s this new diet. I don’t eat anything, and when I feel like I’m about to faint I eat a cube of cheese…”. Andy replies, “well, it’s certainly working…” and Emily states with conviction, “I KNOW, I’m only one stomach flu away from my goal weight…”. Demented, sick, and yes, I laughed hysterically at the time. Not laughing so much today, BUT I do get her point.

Had a nasty drive-by-“bug”ging today, which with any luck will vamoose as quickly as it came. In the meantime, it has had one glorious, undeniable bit of appeal. I haven’t eating anything today, short of a can of peaches – the cost of the menu for today is next to nothing. I cannot stress enough that this stomach bug be anything I recommend for others, however, if we’re going to attempt to lean into a “The Glass Is Half Full” mentality, there’s the sunny side of things today…

Menu for today / how well I actually fared with it…

Breakfast – coffee, two hard boiled eggs. (Update, didn’t do breakfast, OR coffee. Yes my friends, for the first time since being pregnant with Robbie, I had no coffee this morning. Be afraid… isn’t there a book somewhere that describes the harbingers of doom for the coming End of The Earth? Is me not drinking coffee one of them? Feels like it should be…
Estimated Cost = .23 / Actual Cost = 0.0

Lunch – The leftover soup from yesterday will be PERFECT. (update: yes, it WOULD have been perfect, if the smell of food didn’t make me want to hurl. Didn’t do anything at lunch either.)
Estimated Cost = .0 (woo hoo!) / Actual Cost = .0 (woo.)

Daytime Snack – Lemon jello, no fruit added. (update: yup, the jello is still waiting patiently for me, no doubt thinking it’s done something wrong and is being punished…
Estimated Cost = .10 / Actual Cost = .0

Dinner – A can of organic chicken broth is just what the doctor ordered. Love that stuff, and it should be perfect on a non-perfect stomach. (Update: went with some light cling peaches in fruit juice instead. After 24 hours with no food, IT. WAS. AWESOME.

Nighttime (blogging) snack – the usual chocolate. I can’t do it folks, my body’s chocolate lust has finally been outdone…by a crummy little bug. Words fail me, sulking does not fail me.
Estimated Cost = .15 / Actual Cost = /0

Total cost of food for today: $0.05. So yes, mega-watt silver lining is that food cost has hit next to zero today. Good stuff. Down side, no coffee this morning, no chocolate tonight, practically no food in between. It’s a world gone mad.

Thanks for all of the thoughts & suggestions today, folks. To the doc who strongly suggested I go with fruit rather than broth, send me your bill – I think it did the trick. Deb, Emma, Linda, Louis, Susan, Tash, Megyn & everybody else, thanks for all of the great notes!
Have a great evening, everybody! K

