www.BrilliantFrugalLiving.com

Good morning all! Hope your week is going great. Here on this happy, money-saving Hump Day, 7 days left on our Frugalista Challenge, I’m prepping for my Mom-In-Law to come for the weekend. Hoping the weather will cooperate. Also just found a FABULOUS (outdoor) area rug Monday afternoon that pairs perfectly with the wicker furniture on the front porch. Got it as I drove by the tail end of a garage sale when the previous owners stacked it, and bunch of furniture, books & housewares on the back of a flatbed with a big “FREE” sign on it. You can imagine the bedlam. Only downside, it was covered with enough dirt to have me think some sort of desert military training took place on it. Dragged it home, got it to the porch, and an hour with the vacuum revealed a gorgeous rug – WOO HOO! If I get the car back by Friday afternoon, I’ve got to get some hanging plants for the porch too. Prices are next to nothing on those now!

Menu for today!

Breakfast – coffee, two hard boiled eggs
Cost = .23

Lunch – Tuna. Love it. No spinach tho, as I’d rather be dragged by a truck. Going with a side of corn. Tuna and corn? Why not.
Cost = .10

Daytime Snack – Cherry jello (no fruit)
Cost = .10

Dinner – Trying some rice & beans! I’ve been dying to try it, so many bloggers recommended it as a great, inexpensive, healthy meal, and I’m FINALLY getting my act together and doing it. It’s incredible, when you get a 16 oz bag of organic brown rice for .40 (B&B Discount Grocery, of course), it’s amazing how a single serving costs next to nothing. Trying 2 oz of that, along with a can of beans, some spices, a touch of garlic, maybe a drizzle of olive oil.
Cost = .15 (.05 for rice, .05 for beans, and I’m calling the oil & spices at .05 – I get them all for next to nothing at the discount grocery)

Nighttime (blogging) snack – Definitely going with the smaller Dagoba bar tonight, costs are running a bit high.
Cost = .15

Total cost of food for today: $0.73.

Keep sending in your thoughts, ideas & suggestions. Have a fantastic Hump Day, everybody!

