www.BrilliantFrugalLiving.com

Hey gang! Sorry I’ve been AWOL the last day, we got SPANKED by this East Coast storm! Power was THRASHED out of existence yesterday at 2:30P, is STILL out at home as I type this. Lost three huge trees in the yard, one of which threw themselves Hollywood style across the driveway AND the road. Very dramatic. Family coming out for the weekend had to bail (no electricity? Later, alligator…). Spent last night with no power – the kids were SUCH sports. And after spending today in the airconditioner-less heat I finally threw myself on the mercy of my parents, who live an hour away but were spared the brunt of the storm and kept power, and who are now treating the kids to dinner & giving us some time online before we head back home tonight. According to PP&L, power is supposed to be back up & running around 2:00A. Keep your fingers crossed! In the meantime, we got the car back, so that’s cool.

On a positive note, going into me-caveman-me-have-no-electric mode put a fabulous squash on my appetite, as well as my ability to heat food out of a can. Therefore, we’re staying beautifully on budget. Kept to budget yesterday at the .70 mark (including cold leftover rice & beans for dinner last night. Not bad, all things considered).

Menu for Today was super simple & ultra cheap.

Breakfast – coffee, two hard boiled eggs
Cost = .23

Lunch – remember, no ability to heat food, so we went super simple, with a can of fruit salad.
Cost = .05

Daytime Snack – Lemon jello, no fruit (made it the day before & it set up well even without power)
Cost = .10

Dinner – In the interest of keeping the Frugalista Challenge in play (even while out of the house), I brought some Chef Boyardee with me & heated it up at my folks’ house.
Cost = .05

Nighttime (blogging) snack – Having managed an entire 24 hours with NO electricity and a minimum of whimpering, I hereby decree that I should be rewarded with a BIG Scharffen Berger bar.
Cost = 0.25

Total cost of food for today: $0.68. Good stuff!

Keep sending in your thoughts, ideas & suggestions. Have a great weekend, everybody! And if you’re digging out from this storm, viva electricity!

