AMELIA’S GROCERY OUTLET! SAVE MONEY!
Hey gang! Hope your weekend is going great! Day 8 on the January Challenge, a good couple of inches of snow here, nothing too bad, and nothing compared to the spanking we’re supposed to expect from Mother Nature on Tuesday, so hey, I’ll keep the weather complaints to a minimum. For now. Thanks to a mongo Perdue Oven Stuffer Roaster I made on Thursday, I had some great stuff to work with (leftover wise) that took costs down beautifully for the day.

Here’s the breakdown:
Day 8 Total: $8.70, Total for Month: $77.85

Coffee: Big beautiful percolator o’hazelnut coffee, all for me, me, me!! – 0.25.

Breakfast – ($4.00) Decided to do another big batch of French Toast for everybody. Super easy recipe, and always creates loads of leftovers! A loaf of whole wheat bread, one dozen eggs, some cooking oil, maple syrup, for a total of: $4. They LOVED it, and breakfast is so easy for tomorrow! Just heat & eat!

Lunch: $0.60 – It’s a Saturday, it’s snowy. It’s fun food time. So I made chicken salad out of some of the leftover Perdue Roaster, and a side of macaroni & cheese for everybody.

Afternoon Snack – ($2) we were all on the go today, so we went with an easy snack of apples.

Dinner: $1.50. Finally got to use one of the fantastic recipes sent in! Took the last of the meat off the chicken, and did a fabulous bean soup with a 16 bean soup mix, one can of corn, and some spices. Added 8 cups of water, cooked it for about 3 hours on very low heat. Then took about 1/3 of it and put it thru the food processor to thicken it up, and I now have a boatload of incredibly fantastic soup that will serve for several meals. All for $1.50! Best part of all, the kids love it! WOO HOO!

Evening Snack: (0.35) More popcorn! ¼ cup popped into 6 cups, with ¼ stick of butter melted on top. If I stay awake past 8P, I’ll try to pair that popcorn with a good Saturday night flick on cable. Yes, I’m a wild partying kind of woman.

So there we have it, managed today for $8.70, total for the month is $77.85! Keep those great ideas coming! Have a great Saturday, everybody!

