Happy Mother’s Day, everybody! If you’re a Mother, Grandmother, Stepmother, Godmother, or you often hear “you’re like a Mom to me!” from someone special – this week’s Column is dedicated to you. I love Erma Bombeck’s quote – “Mothers have to remember what food each child likes or dislikes, which one is allergic to penicillin and hamster fur, who gets carsick and who isn’t kidding when he stands outside the bathroom door and tells you what’s going to happen if he doesn’t get in right away. It’s tough. If they all have the same hair color they tend to run together.” Erma’s right – especially about the hair color. When you’ve got two wildly energetic, dark-haired kids zooming by at Mach 2, it’s tough to know which one you’ve got to scold for squirting toothpaste all over the train set, or who sprinkled KoolAid powder into the toilet to watch it mix into cool swirly colors when they flush. Or maybe that’s just in my house.

I have fabulous news for all of the households honoring Mom this Mother’s Day. Moms are – without a doubt – the most sentimental slobs on earth. Making the day ultra-special requires very little money, just a touch of imagination (and a lot of dry macaroni). If you’re ready to create a fabulous Mother’s Day for the special lady in your life, read on for gift ideas that have historically gone off the charts on the brag-worthy scale.

Noodle Necklaces – How important are these little gems? Let’s put it this way – I’ve received bits of jewelry here & there all my life. I can generally tell you where to find the somewhat-sentimental pieces (High School Rings, special earrings, etc.). However, I can tell you with concrete clarity where my wedding & engagement rings are (left hand, 24/7), and my two noodle necklaces, circa 2007 & 2010 (in a protected, cotton lined box way in the back of my “special stuff” drawer). Trust me, Creamettes never had it so good. if the Mom in your life (of any age) doesn’t have one of these, she’s missing out on the most priceless jewelry on Earth. Get to it.

Breakfast in Bed – the perfect gift from kids, and off-the-charts brag worthy to any and all that cross Mom’s path later that day. Fabulous menu choices (that don’t require an insurance adjuster coming out to the house to assess the damages) are toast with jam, cereal, fruit salad, and a big cup of coffee. Four Seasons, Schmore Seasons, let’s see them make a burned piece of toast topped with strawberry jam and mayo that even comes close to your preschooler’s version. Bon appétit!

Homemade Card –Store-bought cards are lovely, I grant you. I’ve received lots of them in my life. They’re all…..somewhere. However, all of the hand-made cards (and I do mean ALL of them), that my children wrote out carefully in crayon, with the words “I Love U Momy” (with the forgotten “m” smushed in later), are now keeping company next to some very lucky macaroni necklaces. Dads, this means you too. A hand-written paragraph or two, with an extra helping of well-thought out mush, is serious currency, I kid you not. If the idea of hand-writing something puts you into a full blown panic, however, I don’t want that on my conscience. Hitting your local dollar store for a fabulous card is perfectly acceptable as well.

However you decide to celebrate Mother’s Day, make it priceless with your imagination, rather than your cash. To all the Moms out there (including mine!) that make our lives so fantastic, Happy Mother’s Day!

